How to live the normal life with Celiac Disease

Saturday, October 27, 2012

You can lead an absolutely normal life post being detected Celiac by just being a little cautious of what you eat. This disease is no different from general cold or flu if you know what is good for you and what is not. Just follow these simple rules and you will know how easy it is to cope up with your normal life. These of-course are based on our experience and understanding and we are sure you would be molding these as per your taste and requirements but we do encourage you to share your tips with us so others too can benefit from those.
Please remember that the flours mentioned Should be processed ONLY in a GLUTEN FREE FLOUR MILL.

What to Eat

What NOT to Eat


Gram Flour(Besan), Arrowroot, Buckwheat(Kuttu Atta), Corn, Maize, Potato flour, Rice, Rice bran, Brown Rice, Sago(Sabudana), Tapioca, Soya, Soya bran, Soya flour, Amaranth, Quinoa, Samo Rice(Samak Ke Chawal), Almond flour, Flax seeds, Chia seeds, Sunflower seeds, Ragi

Wheat, Wholemeal, Wholewheat & Wheatmeal flour, Wheatbran, Barley, Rye, Rye Flour, Oats(Jav),Samolina, Museli. All Baked Foods made from Wheat , Rye, Semolina, Barley and Pearl Barley

Dairy Products

Eggs, Milk, Cream, Butter, Cheese, Cottage Cheese, Curd, Coffee Whiteners, Soya Products

Yoghurts, Cheese Spreads


Tea, Coffee, Herb Tea, Aerated Drinks ( Coke, Pepsi, Sprite etc.), Rooh Af Zah, Tang, Marmite , Most alcoholic drinks, Pediasure

Barley based drinks, barley fruit drinks, Beer, Malted drinks, Milk Additives (Like Nesquick, Boost, Complan Etc.)

Fruits & Vegetables

All fresh fruits and vegetables.Packaged to be used with caution unless mentioned gluten free


All except certain brands of baked beans and beans with a sauce which may contain gluten

Confectionary & Sweets

Jam, Marmalade, Sugar, Honey, Molasses, Golden Syrup, Some brands of imported Chocolates which do write Gluten free.

Avoid Indian sweets from sweet shops as they may be contaminated. Take the ones made only in gluten free facilities or made at home.

Soups & sauces

Many manufactured sauces, stock cubes and soups contain gluten so should be avoided.

Soya sauce needs to be avoided unless the label says 'Gluten Free'


Sukriti Bhrgv. said...

You've mentioned Amul chocolates to be gluten free & safe for us.. Are you sure ??

Gluten free life said...

We have spoken to the Head of nutrition at Amul and he does confirm the same but only verbally. Please do remember to read the labels for any wafer filling which could be wheat based.
Rest if in doubt it better to leave it out.

Unknown said...

Which company cheese is gluten free?

Anurag Parihar said...

Pls let me know gluten free dealers around kaushambi ghaziabad

Tarvinder kaur said...

Does cornflakes contain gluten?

Reetika said...

Amul is my favourite as it does not add unnecessary colour in cheese.

Reetika said...

Yes almost all commercially available cornflakes have malt extract in them so cant be gluten free

Reetika said...

Sorry i am not aware of any in that area. You ll have to look around in big stores for your gf supplies

Unknown said...

So is Amul cheese(the spread/cubes) gluten free?

Gluten free life said...

You will have to call the company to find out if the processes being used are safe for Celiacs.
As per the ingredients listed on their pack they look to be devoid of Gluten.

Post a Comment